Back in Business ^^

Hello everyone :D I’m back again!

After my three weeks of military camp, I finally have some time to blog again. So how was my military training? Well, it was okay…okay according to military standard that is :D There is a lot of push-up, running, and sun bathing (no tanks T.T). The most interesting part is that I get to know how are the life of the real military personnel. I’m surprised that they have to endure all of those crazy training everyday, having not that much salary for an Indonesian standard, but their loyalty to the State is without a doubt..that’s amazing. The training was hard but overall I enjoyed it…first because I had no choice, and second, because there are 142 people in that training, so if I suffer, at least I’m not alone LoL

Now lets talk about what happen after I get back from the camp. Remember in my last post I talk about buying something big in October? Since I’m not being robbed and still alive after the camp, I finally decide to go for it. This is what’s new in October:

A Nikon D5000 SLR Camera :D

I can’t remember since when I wanted a good enough DSLR Camera. It was out of reach when I was in college, but thankfully now I got it :D The choice was between Canon EOS 500D and Nikon D5000. After reading many review on the web, both are actually at the same level, and the price was pretty much the same too. But I decide to go for this one because it has a flip screen, a built in retouch feature, and it just felt right when I hold it.

The lens included in this kit is the Nikon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Lens. Still getting the hang of this lens, so there is not much to say bout it :p

This is the flip screen I was talking about, makes it a lot easier when you want to shoot an objects on the floor or other hard angle.

Since there are two camera in my hand (the old and the new one), I now able to take a picture of the camera that accompany me since this blog started:

The Fuji FinePix E510 :D There not so much work for this veteran anymore, but I believe there are certain occasion where taking a big camera is just impossible, and this guy will be back in service. And there are still some unreleased photos taken by this camera, so those are gonna be released soon :D

Now here is some photos during the test shot with my D5000:

Danbo: wow, you new camera is huuuge….

Danbi didn’t realize that it is not a camera..not even close to a camera -_-” 

 

Drossel got attacked by Post-it Stickers…

DSLR could open up a whole new possibilities in taking a picture. I’m still very new at it, so such possibilities are not yet explored :D

12 thoughts on “Back in Business ^^

  1. haha reminds me of the time i am serving national service :P Glad to have you back and with a really awesome camera!! Actually even with your old camera you are already doing wonders with it can’t wait to see more of your danbo in action with your new hardware upgrade!

    • National service is meant to get you prepare for war right? I bet it is way harder..
      I can’t wait to run some more shot too, especially outdoors…unfortunately I don’t have that many free time anymore T.T

  2. My God… That’s one helluva smexy DSLR you’ve got. And the picture of your old camera shows it’s fangs. Little wonder, as it has a better sensors and functions.

    Also, welcome back. Commander. (sorry, can’t resist that XD)

  3. How much is D5000 hams? I thought I need to get a dslr too, but still confuse between Canon and Nikon, but probably next year I will get it though..

    And btw I realized you played ps3 too, want to add me to your friend list? so we can play together ehehe.. mine PSN ID is the same with my name..

    • There are two types of D5000, the VR (Vibration Reduction) and non-VR. Mine is the non-VR, it costs around 5,8ish while the VR type cost around 6,1..I also confused between Nikon and Canon since they have their own advantage and almost similar price, I really recommend to read all the review about both camera. I think the most comprehensive review is in dpreview.com

      My PSN ID is h4msterrific :D But I never play online since I moved to Jakarta, my internet connection is not reliable enough to go online T.T

  4. welcome back buddy ^^ glad to hear you werent traumatized and able to enjoy the training lol

    wow you werent kidding about big loot, nice investment! cute test shots and crisp detail, oh the fun to be had with DSLR :D

  5. Welcome back brader ^^
    now you must be burning with military spirit! Or maybe you’re trained by our densus 88?

    DSLR, that’s definitely a good investment. Is it hard to use bro?

Leave a Reply

